Tags

, , , ,

I was reading an article detailing 10 More Mysterious Conspiracy Theories (hello, nerd alert), and I didn’t even manage to get very far before I came face-to-face with my ancient arch-nemesis… spotting the difference.

It’s true.

Never before have I tasted the glory of besting my peers in a quick round of “SPOT THE DIFFERENCE”. No matter how hard I try, I CAN’T SEEM TO FIND THEM ALL WITHOUT CHEATING trying extremely hard.

Crap, I hope this doesn’t speak to an early predisposition to Alzheimer’s or some other sort of mental disease…

But I’m digressing.

Behold, the very first item on the article: the Ararat Anomaly.

Have you heard of it? This is the claim that Noah’s Ark still rests in the Ararat mountains, hidden beneath a thick layer of snow and ice. The pictures that are to follow (apparently) detail evidence of the Ark’s existence to this day.

The Ararat Mountains

Evidently, from a photo like this, a large chunk of the Earth’s population (if my friends are any indication, anyway) is successfully able to identify that there is an anomaly present.

*crickets chirping*

I swear I don’t see anything out of the ordinary.

In fact, if I hadn’t actually Googled this image for the purposes of this post, I could very well have been confused by this image for hours. In fact, I’m still not so sure this is a picture of mountains, much less that of the Ararat ranges…

And if you think slapping a big red arrow on it, followed by a grainy blown-up image of this alleged anomaly is going to help, well, you’ve got another think coming.

A couple of things floated into my general consciousness:

  1. WHAT IN THE WORLD IS THAT ARROW POINTING AT?
  2. WHAT IS THAT GRAINY BLOWN-UP IMAGE SHOWING ME?
  3. SPOT THE HIDDEN MICKEY!!
  4. ?????????

You could have told me that grainy blow-up was of ol’ Nessie the Loch Ness monster and I wouldn’t have been any the wiser.

And if you were thinking you would idiot-proof the image further by drawing a lurid red circle around the anomaly to REALLY highlight it… I mean… look, just save what’s left of your energy.

Despite all these reports of a “rounded elongation” that “looks man-made”, and the “smoothness” of this supposed elongation .. I JUST DON’T SEE IT. The only smooth, rounded, man-made elongation I can see is the red circle somebody drew on this image.

WHAT IS EVERYBODY TALKING ABOUT?!

Can you spot the anomaly?

.

.

.

P.S. Happy Winter Solstice (冬至) to all the people who are celebrating it today. Fill your stomachs with tang-yuan, and have a great, disgustingly huge feast! Yum. 😀

xo, minty

