Tags

, ,

If you live anywhere in Asia, you’ll already be used to the fact that stray animals pepper the streets, everywhere you care to look. It’s sad and unfortunate that some animals don’t have a loving family or a place to call home, but it’s the sort of situation you get when you couple irresponsible owners (BOOOO!!) with a lack of awareness for animal welfare.

Well honestly, on the bright side, at least nobody’s putting them to sleep for it, which could also happen in a shelter.. (this is starting to get depressing Minty, I hope you have a valid point to convey by the end of this) ..

OK, but that’s not the point.

The point is, I think a stray cat is stalking me, and I have nobody to blame but myself.

The story goes as such:

Most mornings, I have my breakfast at the same place at about the same time (obviously, Spontaneous is my middle name). At this point in time, a street cat will make an appearance, sitting about two feet away where it will commence staring at me with its unnerving cat eyes. Almost like it can sense that I’m weak and pliant (it probably can, because cats seem to be a wily, perceptive bunch).

Accurate depiction of the cat making scary cat eyes at me. (Any resemblance to felines alive or dead is purely coincidental.)

This has been happening regularly for the past week.

Now, at this point, I should probably make a note that I’m a big dog person. I love dogs. Dogs are cute and cuddly and kind of lovably silly even though they tend to drool a lot, which is a bit unfortunate when you’re wearing things that can only be dry-cleaned.

Although, that should not be construed to mean that I despise cats. Cats aren’t all that bad, and are actually kind of squeeee … when they’re not slashing at things (like my leg) with their razor-sharp claws or staring creepily at you from two feet away.

In fact, I like it very much when cats look sort of (but not dissimilar to) this:

Now THAT’S REALLY CUTE.

This… This is not so cute:

Scary cat eyes. *gulp*

Dog people will know what I mean.

But anyway, back to the cat.

Scary cat eyes make my skin crawl, and I know it’s not even the cat’s fault that their eyes dilate or contract (constrict?) depending on how much light there is around, but for some reason I just can’t seem to stop finding it immensely creepy. So, partially because I felt kind of sorry for it (nobody likes to be hungry 😦 I feel you Kitty), and also because I wanted to get it to stop staring, I dropped some food down to it.

Projectile feeding.

…..

Now it keeps coming up to me and waiting for food handouts.

Which is fair enough, and would be the smart thing to do. I mean, logic prevails in this situation: If someone gives you food once, it is entirely likely they will do it again. Which I actually wouldn’t mind doing, if only she wouldn’t yowl as menacingly as she does.

On that same note, I keep dropping morsels down because sometimes she gathers her haunches and shifts around a little bit on her feet and then I feel like she’s about to pounce into my lap (THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME BEFORE, FML), and that’s not something I want happening no matter how cute they are. Street animals are usually rife with germs, which is a Type A germophobe’s worst nightmare. So, down the food goes, and my lap remains safe and clean for another day.

But really, at the end of it all, I think the biggest beef I have with it is not that it never seems to really appreciate that I’m donating my food to it, or even that we seem to have a pretty rigid, frosty relationship (I now know what it’s like to have a petulant, ungrateful kid – I mean, you give and you give and you give, and nobody ever says thank you).. It’s that IT NEVER HAS CUTE PUSS-IN-BOOTS EYES. NOT EVEN ON A CLOUDY DAY.

What’s up with that?!

“Say you like my eyes. Or else.”

xo, minty

