Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My current love, the satchel that has taken the fashion world by storm: The Cambridge Satchel Company satchels!

An Alexa bag is still top on my list but it’s too bloody expensive, and hard to comprehend (the price) to be buying it with my own bills 😦

However, I still wanted my first traditional satchel…

…then I discovered this British brand earlier this year while browsing some sites online (it was actually Asos!) and found out about these cute, fun & bright made-to-order 100% leather satchels! They come in a multitude of colours too; fluorescent, patent, metallic…the list goes on!

There is no CSC physical store, except for stockists around the world (Singapore & Philippines in the SEA region) and major online sites like Asos and Urban Outfitters.

To distinguish themselves as more than just a satchel bag, CSC collaborates with the likes of Comme Des Garçons, Urban Outfitters and Asos. These unisex bags were an overnight success with celebrities (even London designer Erdem!) donning them, it being featured on fashion weeks (Paris Fashion Week, Milan Fashion Week, London Fashion Week) and gracing magazines such as Vogue, Grazia and Elle!

How’s that for a mother-daughter team who started this traditional satchel phenomenon back in 2008 because the daughter of the team (Julie Deane) couldn’t find a sturdy, perfect ‘Harry Potter-ish’ little satchel for her own little girl?

This is a 14” Vintage & Navy multicoloured batchel (‘batchel’ due to the top handle on the bag otherwise it is called a ‘satchel’) which I purchased from the website itself. It is a perfect size for me (I am 5’2”) when I am travelling but an 11” or a 13” would suit better as a day handbag.

This Vintage & Navy is actually from the racks of the collab between Urban Outfitters x CSC and exclusively sold in Urban Outfitters. However, the CSC site sells it, and has thrown in FREE embossing (Blind, Black, Gold or Silver) as well!

Each letter costs Β£5 but luckily I had it free! I’ve blurred out my embossing here but believe me, it’s beautiful and clean! Also, this will avoid theft… true!

I love the contrasting blue stitches on the traditional brown leather! The bag is very sturdy, and hard. Julie Deane emailed me saying the bag weighs less than 2kg, and I’m glad it feels lighter than 2!

It is not a clasp-on buckle, it’s the real deal! A little bit troublesome, but it’s traditional and authentic!

The bags are not lined so I was expecting some fur, but to my delight the interior is smoothed out so much that it nearly feels like the exterior of the bag!

The back of the bag

Genuine and authentic CSC satchels have this logo stamped behind the bag. Make sure you buy from the right CSC website or its legitimate stockists!

I am wearing:

  • Vintage & Navy 14” batchel – Cambridge Satchel Company
  • Summer Dress – thrifted, Bangkok
  • Nude espadrilles – thrifted, Bangkok
  • Dual bird-sun necklace – Asos
  • Ring – thrifted, Xativa Spain
  • Wooden bracelet – thrifted, Borneo

As these CSC satchels are made-to-order, a 30-day wait is the norm. Their communication is still slightly lacking but they are definitely working on it (call them, as they answer very quickly!). Julie Deane even apologised for the delay in replying emails and was very witty about it!

I had my bag sent to the man in the UK (I also saved on shipping as to Borneo it’s a crazy Β£20 charge!), as I figured that having the bag sent locally would be quicker. I waited more or less a month for it and now it’s finally in my hands as the man’s here for the Summer!

p.s: You don’t know this…but my man wore my bag out a few times! Now that’s a very stylish manbag πŸ˜‰

If you already have a CSC satchel, do let me know how you feel about it! πŸ™‚

β™₯ P E A C H E S

