Tags

, , , , , , ,

I probably wouldn’t miss this if I were to be in the UK, and you shouldn’t! This ‘living wall’ sounds, looks and even feels amazing!

As part of a carbon reducing plan between The National Gallery and General Electric (GE), over 8,000 plants have been planted on a vertical wall to recreate Vincent van Gogh’s painting of ‘A Wheatfield, with Cypresses’. Basically, bringing his painting to life!

When I visited the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam, Netherlands there were many paintings of nature (Post-Impressionist style). I can’t remember if I saw the said painting, but I definitely did not see the famous ‘Starry Starry Night’ (as it was on loan to a museum in New York at the time).

The queue to get into the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam is usually very long, and luckily we had the cheaper (and faster) tickets to get in.

€10.47 to get into the exclusive Van Gogh museum with the ‘I Amsterdam’ card. It was worth it, as we all had ear pieces to listen about the facts and stories of each painting (his life was a sad one towards the end, and it ended tragically with him shooting himself in the chest and dying 2 days later).

I find it difficult to appreciate art when I do not know the story behind it, and about the artist himself so museum guides is a great tool.

So if you’re not in Amsterdam, but in London I suggest you visit The National Gallery in London to take a look at the Living Wall. Simply amazing!

Before and After

Side-by-side

The ‘living wall’ grows!

I wonder how it looks like now, as it’s already Summer in the UK and a very hot one at that too! The living wall will be up until the end of this October so if you’re in the area, do check it out!

Other than that, have a great weekend 🙂

♥ ρeaches

